AIIMS 2018





AIIMS 2018 Introduction

The All India Institutes of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) are a group of autonomous public medical colleges of higher education, it was declared so by Act of Parliament in 1956, and These institutes have been declared by as Institutes of National Importance. AIIMS Delhi, the fore-runner parent excellence institution, was established in 1956.

By virtue of this Act, the Institute awards its own medical degrees and other academic distinctions. The degrees awarded by the Institute under the All India Institute of Medical Sciences Act are recognized medical qualifications for the purpose of the Indian Medical Council Act and notwithstanding anything contained therein, are deemed to be included in the first schedule of that Act, entitling the holders to the same privileges as those attached to the equivalent awards from the recognized Universities of India.

AIIMS and Objectives

Important objectives of the Institute are to bring together in one place educational facilities of the highest order for the training of personnel in all the important branches of health activity and to attain self-sufficiency in postgraduate medical education. The educational principles and practices being adopted are those which are best suited to the needs of the nation.


AIIMSs and locations, sorted establishment wise

Name Established City/town State/UT
AIIMS New Delhi 1956 New Delhi Delhi
AIIMS Bhopal 2012 Bhopal Madhya Pradesh
AIIMS Bhubaneswar 2012 Bhubaneswar Odisha
AIIMS Jodhpur 2012 Jodhpur Rajasthan
AIIMS Patna 2012 Patna Bihar
AIIMS Raipur 2012 Raipur Chhattisgarh
AIIMS Rishikesh 2012 Rishikesh Uttarakhand

Eight other AIIMS

Under the Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha Yojana eight (Six plus Two) new All India Institutes of Medical Sciences have been established similar to AIIMS, New Delhi. the Government of India has also decided that the Academic Session for the current year two New AIIMS at Mangalagiri (Andhra Pradesh) & Nagpur (Maharashtra) batch of 50 students for each will also be started in August 2018. The admission will be done on the basis of merit-cum-choice of the candidates.